Home > 3 Guys Reviews, 500 Days of Summer > 500 Days of Summer

500 Days of Summer

500 Days of Summer

Director: Marc Webb
Writer: Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber
Stars: Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Zooey Deschanel, Geoffery Arend
Reviewed by: Scotty

I had yet to see this movie until this week but have been told this movie was really good; so I went into it with high expectations.  The problem with high expectations is reality is all too different, sometimes.

The plot is pretty basic; 2 twenty somethings meet, they start dating, one is more interested in the other and soon the relationship dissipates with one person being very unhappy.  Although basic, it is real.

Tom( Joseph Gordon-Levitt) and Summer(Zooey Deschanel) have what seems to be a perfectly good relationship but as time passes Tom wants more than what Summer desires at this time and soon the relationship begins to erode, to Tom’s dismayThe break-up destroys Tom and he just swims in his own pity

Most of us  go through life having been on the giving or receiving end of these types of relationships, or both.  They both suckThese relationships are often the building blocks of the relationship that lasts but at the time it feels like death and this movie walks you through familiar territory.

This movie was touching and smart without overblown sensationalism,  I felt connected to the characters and found myself thinking back to my past relationships and how they led me to where I am today.  I have been Tom before and I have lost my Summer, or two

My expectations and reality were pretty close and I give this movie 2 guys.


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

