Home > Quick Reviews > The Experiment

The Experiment

The Experiment

Director: Paul Scheuring

Writer: Paul Scheuring (screenplay), Mario Giordano (novel)

Starring: Adrien Brody, Cam Gigandet and Forest Whitaker

Review By: Scotty

This film is a remake of a 2001 German film “Das Experiment” and from what I have read it does not come close to the original.  I have not seen the original but I will now.

The film is about 26 men that agree to an experiment in exchange for 14,000 dollars for 2 weeks in a prison where there are assigned guards and prisoners.  It ultimately goes way wrong as the subjects abuse their power and test the limits of this controlled experiment.

This film is violent and gritty but lacks depth.  The film seems rushed to get to the point when I think it would have served the film better to slowly unfold so that the audience could connect to the emotions of the characters.  The actors did their jobs but the script did not.  It was not horrible,  just thin.  See it if you want but I will assume the original is much better.

Categories: Quick Reviews
  1. Adam Griffith
    April 14, 2011 at 9:24 am

    I thought it was pretty well done. Did you check out the links to the experiments the filmwas based on? The original version is available on Netflix streaming. I hope to check it put soon it’s higher on the tomato meter.

    • April 14, 2011 at 12:40 pm

      I thought the main characters cracked a little too early in the film and therefore I thought it was rushed. Where were the scientists who were supposed to be watching the experiment? I read about the Stanford experiment that this was based on. I bet the original is a lot better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

