Home > 3 Guys Reviews, The Runaways > The Runaways

The Runaways

The Runaways
Director: Floria Sigismondi
Writers: Floria Sigismondi, Cherie Currie
Stars: Kristen Stewart, Dakota Fanning, Michael Shannon

Review by Griff

Once again I had pretty low expectations going into this movie. However this week I was pleasantly surprised. The Runaways tells the mostly true story of the 70’s rock band the Runaways. It deals with how the original band started, the eventual break up, and the beginning of the Joan Jett’s solo career.

Ordinarily, Kristen Stewart makes me want to punch kittens but I really enjoyed her in this film. She is really good as Joan Jett. I was truly impressed. The rest of the cast…well, read on. This film was Dakota Fanning’s breakout performance and an “adult“ actress. Did she pull it off? Not really. She did an admirable job but I feel like she was a little bit out of her league here. I also didn’t buy Michael Shannon as Kim Fowley. Shannon delights in unusual roles but he seems a little bit over the top for me here. My only other negative is that the editing style made me feel a little bit too much like I was watching an old music video from the 80’s.

With all of that said, I enjoyed the film. The story was interesting and moved along at a good pace. Kristen Stewart is scary good as Joan Jett and it’s worth checking out for that alone. I was pleasantly surprised by this film. I give it 2 guys.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

